Bewertung: 4 / 5

Stern aktivStern aktivStern aktivStern aktivStern inaktiv
 

Frequently asked Questions and answers about Paolo Mori Augustus - Augustus FAQ (updated 13-06-24)

Although the original rulebook of the boardgame Augustus from Paolo Mori has been recently revised and updated from the publisher (an updated rulebook in english language is available for download here), some sentences and formulation in the rules remain unclear. On this webpage you find a revision of the rules, clearing of important questions and further support. You can find the answers on certain questions which you sometimes can find in the rulebook of the game and you find the clarification of some rules. With this target we also evaluate statements by Paolo Mori and from the staff of the publisher. Furthermore rules from the original rulebook(s) will be compared with the revised rules. (You'll find on this side only contents which has been turn out to be unclear. If you want to ask a question, please contact us or simply write a comment.)

Game Components: Number of Legions
In the game are not 50 legions included, you will find only 48 legions.

Game Setup: Discard ramaining objective-cards
At the beginning of the game each player chooses three objective-cards out of six objective-cards. The three unselected cards have to be discarded by each player face down on the discard pile.

Starting player and the first player
According to the rules of the game "the oldest player begins as town crier". This player is the first-player and draws the tokens. "All the players, including the town crier, can place a legion on one of their objectives, on a space of the same category as the drawn mobilisation token." Since in some situations it is strategically important to know where other players place their tokens, the following house-rule is recommended: The town-crier is the starting player and has to place first his legion, afterwards the other players place their legions in clockwise order.

Mobilisation-token "Joker"
When the "Joker" has been drawn, you may mobilize any legion. Each player may freely decide on which field he wants to place a legion.
For example, Dimitri places a legion of "Shield", Mary places a "Chariot", Adrian and Roman choose to place a "Dagger".

Reward "Number of objectives"
A reward may only be claimed directly after completion of an objective-card (i.e. take over the "control"). This rule is especially important for the reward-cards "Number of Objectives". If you don't take the reward for a certain number of cards immediately, you are not allowed to take this bonus-card "afterwards".
For example: Mary completes her 5.objective-card. As she speculates to get the reward card for "6 Objectives" (= 10 victory-points) later on, she does not take the reward card for her "5 Objectives" (= 8 victory points). Some turns later Roman completes his 6.Objective as the first player and takes the reward card for "6 Objectives". In this case Mary can not receive any reward-card.
There is only one exception for this rule: If Maria should lose her 5.objective-card after the situation described above (which may occur, for example, as result of a card "Remove a Controlled Objective"), then she could again be able to take the reward-card "5 Objectives", if she would take over the control of her 5.objective-card later.

Reward "Colour of objectives - 6 victory points for an objective of each colour"
The reward "6 victory points for an objective of each colour" means that you must control at least one card each in green, pink, orange and a senator (see updated rulebook, page 3). This rule refers to the image on the card.

Objective-cards with "immediate effect" have to be fulfilled before you choose a new objective-card
According to the rule "To complete an objective" (page 3, above) you have to fulfill the "power provided by the objective" before you choose your new objective-card. This rule includes that the "immediate effect" of an objective-card may never effect any (in this moment not yet choosen) new objective-card.

Objective-card (immediate effect): "Immediately complete one of your objectives"
The text of the immediate-effect objective-card "Immediately complete one of your objectives" has been changed in the new rulebook. In consequence of this card you "Immediately choose one of your objective-cards and complete this choosen card". As immediate-effect of the completed card you may complete another own objective-card (and this may happen without use of any legion). This means, that you first move your objective-card "Immediately complete one of your objectives" to the area of controlled objective-cards and afterwards you chose a second card of your own uncontrolled objective-cards, withdraw any legion on it and lay this second objective-card in the area of controlled objective-cards. (After completing this card you have two new cards in the area of controlled objective-cards.)

Objective-card (immediate effect): "Take two objectives instead of one to replace the one you have just controlled"
The rule for the immediate-effect objective-card "Take two objectives instead of one to replace the one you have just controlled" has also been updated in the new rulebook.  In the new german rulebook you find: "Ersetze die Zielkarte, die du gerade unter deine Kontrolle gebracht hast, mit zwei beliebigen der verfügbaren Zielkarten". This means, that in consequence of this objective-card you have four uncompleted objective-cards (instead of three) in front of you for the rest of the game. You choose two cards of the five cards without redrawing meanwhile.

Redrawing more than one card when you fulfil various objective-cards
When you have to redraw more than one objective-card, because you fulfilled various objectives in the same round, you choose a new objective from the five available cards and place it in front of you. Then you "add the first objective from the deck to bring the number available back up to five", before you draw the next card and so on...

Objective-card (immediate effect): "You receive one or two additional legions"
The immediate-effect objective-card "You receive one or two additional legions" means, that you get one or two additional legions from the "Stock of Legions" (= previously uncontrolled legions).
For example: As consequence of the card "You receive two additional legions" the player has 9 legions at his disposal from now on (= 7 + 2 legions).

Objective-card (immediate effect): "Each opponent must immediately remove (a) legion(s)"
The effect of this cards intend, that each opponent player (player who takes the damage) decides himself which legion the player wants to remove. The legions have to be removed from objective-cards to the players own stock. If a player has to remove two legions, they may be removed from different objective-cards.

Objective-card (permanent effect): "Choose on which type of space you want to place or move a legion"
The permanent effect that you may choose the kind of a drawn mobilisation token and use one for another, works in both directions.
For example: The permanent effect "shield=chariot" can also be used as permanent effect "chariot= shield". With this power you may move your legion on a shield-field, when chariot has been drawn and you may move also on a chariot-field, when shield has been drawn.

Objective-cards (effect at the end of the game): "Each [...] earns the number of points indicated"
To score the points at the end of the game, each objective-card "Effect at the end of the game" has to be scored separately.
The example for the "final scoring" in the rulebook shows, that the card itself and its provinces have to be counted also.
For example: When you get point for the card "Each controlled objective of the same colour earns the number of points indicated" you have to count the fields on this effect-at-the-end-of-the-game-card also.

End of the game: Total of objective-cards
Although the game ends when a player has seven controlled objective-cards, it may happen, that players can gain the control of an eighth or even a ninth objective-card.
For example: The objective-card "Immediately complete one of your objectives" and possible chain-effects.

Please: Since we are no native speakers, we beg you to inform us when you find mistakes, bad written sentences or wrong informations. This translation into english language has been published, because users asked for. Thank you!

© Spielpreis.de 2013